RSS

Sugar Boost Before Running

06 Mar

A couple weeks ago, something strange happened on one of my runs.

I stopped running.

Choice in the matter was seemingly stripped from my grasp. One moment I was running, and the next I was limping along feeling devoid of all energy and motivation to go on.

There’s nothing inherently wrong with this. I got tired and stopped, so what? The strange part, to me, is that this has never happened before, to my memory. I’ve stopped on runs for various reasons — digestive problems, seeing someone I know on the route, or even for a quick snack at a bread shop. But I cannot remember a time where I had to stop because I was utterly sapped of remaining energy.

Since then I’ve made it through each run successfully, but not without a good deal of wanting to stop.

A few friends suggested the same hypothetical explanations… Diet, sleep, and age. I haven’t had any recent major dietary or sleep changes, and I’m remiss to think that it’s age related (although it’s possible).

I asked a trainer at the gym for some suggestions and she suggested trying to have a ~100 calorie snack before my runs, something like a few pieces of dried fruit. I followed her advice this morning, wolfing down a few pieces of dried apricot before I hit the road, and the difference was immediately noticeable. The run was still hard but I didn’t feel as drained. I finished after 5+ miles with the feeling that I could keep going!

I don’t know if this was the fruit talking, a placebo effect, or something else unrelated, but whatever it is I’ll take it!

Yours In Running,

–Me

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2011 in No Easy Days

 

2 responses to “Sugar Boost Before Running

  1. Genevieve

    March 7, 2011 at 8:52 am

    If you’re running in the morning before breakfast it certainly could be a low blood sugar thing. I’ve had that. I’ve also had too much training outside my normal distance where my body just stops.

    Try some juice (like OJ) with your fruit as well and be nice to your body.

     
  2. halfawake

    March 7, 2011 at 11:36 am

    This is certainly the case sometimes. I’ll try some OJ too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

