RSS

Confidence Week

18 Nov

A friend of mine suggested today that the week before Thanksgiving should henceforth be known as “Confidence Week”. As someone who is routinely told by others that I need to be more confident, this caught my attention right quick. He explained that the main tenants of Confidence Week are that individuals apologize less and wear more ostentatious clothing (cowboy shirts and anything with flowers would work for me, but your outrageous outfits may vary).

Confidence Week ends on the Sunday before Thanksgiving, and starts on the Monday six days prior. Since today is Saturday and Confidence Week ends tomorrow, I’m looking to do something mighty confident in the next 24 hours.

Thanks to Jason for the suggestion!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2006 in Garbage In, Garbage Out

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Confidence Week

  1. Jason

    November 19, 2006 at 3:20 pm

    Flower shirts did not even occur to me, but that is a great idea. I just complimented someone on his flower shirt the other night. (He was one of the other straight guys at a gay bar I was at for a birthday party. Now that is confidence, being a straight guy wearing a floral patterned shirt to a gay bar.)

    Please feel free to let the world know if you come up with something mighty confident to perform.

     
  2. halfawake

    November 20, 2006 at 3:02 am

    I chose a rather flowery button-down t-shirt to wear tomorrow. The flowers are not bright, but the pattern is definitely showier than I’m used to. This is a shirt that I’ve had for years and literally never worn. I’ll wear a long underwear shirt underneath for good contrast. I was thinking of wearing a flannel pajama bottom, but I think that might be impractical if it’s cold.
    It’s a beginning. Planning for next year’s Confidence Week can start right away.

     
  3. halfawake

    November 20, 2006 at 7:10 pm

    The flowery shirt has gotten a few surprised reactions. When asked why I’m wearing it I just say it’s Confidence Week and they seem to accept that. (Some ask if I’m the only one who knows about Confidence Week).
    I realized that I did do something last Tuesday that retroactively counts towards Confidence Week. I had to give a presentation at a conference in Sanfrancisco. The venue was much larger than I was expecting with seating for 200 people. Sure, only 50 showed up, but just seeing the room ahead of time made me rather nervous. Afterwards I was told by an audience member that they were impressed by how nervous I didn’t seem.

     

Leave a Reply

 
