RSS

By Saving You, Did I Save the World?

23 Nov

It’s Thanksgiving, and I just spent my morning catching up on Heroes while waiting for the turkey to cook.  Most of the T.V. viewing public I associate with have snubbed Heroes from the start, but there are those on the interweb who have dubbed it “the new Lost” (probably a positive association).  I like it alot, so I’ve made a point of reserving space for it on the DVR even when my housemate starts getting antsy because there are less than 30 hours of recording time left.

The most recent episode (November 20, “Chapter 8: Seven Minutes to Midnight“) finally addresses in real-time the show’s catchy slogan “Save the cheerleader, save the world”.  Without going into the specifics of the episode, I would like to say that for the last 12 minutes I was choking back my own tears.  I wasn’t quite sobbing like when I watched “The Muppet Christmas Carol“, but I definitely experienced an inexplicable upwelling of emotion that made me give thanks for whoever came up with the idea of mutant super powers (I’m betting that someone reading this will know who did in fact come up with that idea).

This all comes at a time when I’m generally extremely dissatisfied with television.  I feel like the producers at FOX, NBC, and ABC all got Ph.D.s in psychology and now delight in toying with my emotions “like a poodle that has been neutered twice” (-A.E.).  I gave up on all the other massively popular shows a while ago just because it seemed like every season was a repeat of the last.  Recently, I decided to open the gates again for Heroes.  I know they use the same “bait, hook, switch, skin, repeat” philosophy as all the other shows, but that bait just tastes so darn good.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2006 in Entertainment

 

2 responses to “By Saving You, Did I Save the World?

  1. Jason

    November 28, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    I wasn’t quite sobbing like when I watched “The Muppet Christmas Carol“, but I definitely experienced an inexplicable upwelling of emotion that made me give thanks for whoever came up with the idea of mutant super powers (I’m betting that someone reading this will know who did in fact come up with that idea).

    Probably the ancient Sumerians, if not something older I’m blanking on. From the Wikipedia entry on The Epic of Gilgamesh:

    Gilgamesh of Uruk, the greatest king on earth, two-thirds god and one-third human, is the strongest super-human who ever existed. When his people complain that he is too harsh, and abuses his power by sleeping with women before their husbands do, the goddess of creation Aruru creates the wild-man Enkidu, a worthy rival as well as distraction. Enkidu is tamed by the seduction of priestess/prostitute (a hierodule) Shamhat.

    Beat THAT, Stan Lee.

     
  2. halfawake

    November 28, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Enkidu is a “wild-man” created to “distract” Gilgamesh from sleeping with women before their husbands do? I wonder what he does to distract him?

     

Leave a Reply

 
