RSS

1024 x 768

01 Jan

I’ve been thinking of making a New Year’s Resolution, and it’s tied in to the purpose of writing this blog. 

I want to more openly express my opinion without worrying quite so much about what others think.  Recently, I took a “cognitive style self-assessment” administered by a human resources guru, and came back with the result “Introverted Sensing Thinking Judging” (ISTJ).  I won’t break down the results piece by piece because the descriptions are rather detailed, but one trait of the ISTJ personality is that they usually only express their opinion if it is directly solicited.  This is true for me, but beyond that, when my peers express their opinions I have a tendency to temper my own view in order to avoid conflict; in many cases such aversion results in missed opportunities for thoughtful discussion or self-development.  

Phoebe once told me that my housemate dislikes the fact that I have started vocalizing my opinion more often.  Whether or not Phoebe’s account of what he said is correct, my initial reaction was pride.  I want to confront people more, rather than shrink back and nod my head every time someone disagrees with me.  Honestly I feel like I’m being callous to even suggest such a thing, but as Mumbles teaches us, sometimes you do everyone a disservice by pretending to agree. 

My resolution, in short, is to grow a new spine for the new year.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2007 in Garbage In, Garbage Out

 

6 responses to “1024 x 768

  1. JasonT

    January 1, 2007 at 6:08 am

    That is totally awesome.

     
  2. zappoman

    January 17, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Hello, Halfawake!

    I am a big fan of the Myers Briggs Type Indicator test (I/E S/N T/F P/J) test that you describe. I was introduced to it about 4 years ago as part of an executive coaching process that our team was going through. When it was explained to me, felt like a whole new world of understanding was opened up to me.

    I am an ISTP (not far off from you, you’d think) but the P vs. J difference between our two types can be profound. In fact it is this very issue of awareness and concern for other peoples opinions that is the pivot between you and I.

    Where your J-ness leads you to value and in some cases feel beholden to “norms, rules, etc”. My P-ness (don’t say that out loud) makes me eschew those same opinions.

    The ISTJ and ISTP personality types are often consider personality “complements” to each other with “compatible strengths with opposite emphases”.

    The biggest thing that I learned from MBTI was the following…

    When I read through the description of my own type (ISTP) I kept thinking “Oh my god that is EXACTLY how I think about things”… And so I was convinced that they got it right for me…

    Then when I read through some of the other types I was like “What somebody actually things like that!?!!? That can’t be! but wait, if they got it right for me, then this world view must be correct for some people. Huh, wow! That explains the conflict I’ve had with so-and-so. ”

    Read about an INFJ and you’ll probably have this same experience.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing your MBTI type; it gives me a little more perspective on your writing.

     
  3. eyespi20

    January 25, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    My experience with the MBTI test was that, like many personality tests, it can be “weighted” one way or the other by something as simple as the mood you’re in at the time.

    My results were not at all what I expected them to be. The day I took the test, I had been subjected to some of my boss’s abusiveness and was very angry, but unable to express that anger out of fear of losing my job. Since then, my then boss has been fired for her excessive abuse of the employees she supervised (we’re talking screaming, cursing and get-in-your-face threats here).

    My HR person tells me they are now using a different test for new hires. I hope she removes my old test.

    è¿é

     
  4. extorted

    January 25, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Your housemate may have felt uncomfortable with your new voicings as the human finds it hard to adapt to change, especially if he/she found your old self more pleasant (or it made his/her life easier at any rate)

    That is an excellent new year’s resolution though! Do keep it.

     
  5. weirleader

    January 31, 2007 at 1:40 am

    I’ve taken the test several times over a period of years and am pretty stably an ENTX (the X indicating I’m borderline J/P – don’t like being borderline, but that pretty much sums up my personality!). 🙂

    Although I’m extroverted (slightly), I have a bit of your tendency to weight other’s feelings/opinions first to not “rock the boat” or offend. Sometimes I wonder if I just changed my mind to avoid conflict. Other times I convince myself that I’m just good at seeing both sides of a debate… Who knows for sure? 🙂

    It is pretty fun to look at how well they (the personality descriptions) manage to pin down certain aspects of your personality, though!

     

Leave a Reply

 
