RSS

A Week of Fitness

15 Apr

My first excercise in self-discipline is going to be a feat of…  uh…  excercise. 

This week, starting today (April 15), I’m going to run every day for seven days in a row.

But you talk about running all the time…  Shouldn’t you try something harder?

You’re right, I do talk about running alot, because it has played a big role in my life.  However, I have not run consistently since last fall, and even my “consistent” running has been rather haphazard for several years.  Beyond that, the last time I ran seven days in a row was in 2001, almost six years ago (I keep a running log).  Yes, this is something I should be capable of, and something that would be good for me; at the same time it’s something I just never do.  That’s a good place to start my discipline practice.

Here are the ground rules:

  • I will run for at least 10 minutes each day, for 7 consecutive days.
  • I will not use weather as an excuse not to run (that’s a shame, given sunday’s weather forecast calls for 7 inches of snow in my area).
  • I will run even if I do some other excercise (e.g. swimming).

Ten minutes per day (about 1-1.25 miles) isn’t enough to get me into serious running shape, but one week isn’t enough time to do that no matter what my workout schedule is.  The point here is just to get moving persistently despite how I may feel on a particular day.  This activity may have implications for subsequent running, or it may not, but I have not trained how I want to for far too long, so I have to try something.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2007 in Garbage In, Garbage Out, No Easy Days

 

2 responses to “A Week of Fitness

  1. zappoman

    April 16, 2007 at 7:16 am

    Awesome! I’m rooting for you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
