RSS

A Week of Fitness – Synopsis

21 Apr

This morning I went out and completed my seventh consecutive day of running, as it was foretold. I think this excercise had the intended effect… It was tough to get myself out there each day, but by the end I was planning my days around the run a bit more. I actually did my 7th run first thing this morning because I didn’t anticipate wanting to do it after a busy Saturday. In the end I was subconsciously scheduling time in for running, and that’s exactly the point — I want it to become second nature again.

I don’t know if I will keep this up, and I don’t know that I need to. For now I’ll set a tentative goal of increasing my weekly mileage by 10%-15% for 4 weeks or so. Of course, increasing my mileage will be a lot easier if I do run everyday, so I’m going to try to keep it up for as long as possible, even if I continue doing shorter runs.

A few noteworthy highlights of the week:

  • Monday I was running in 7 inches of snow in white-out blizzard conditions, Friday I was running in shorts and a sleeveless t-shirt.
  • Thursday I decided to play games with Bads and Bats in the time where I had originally planned to run. I ended up eating a large Thai meal at 8:30, and then running at 10:30. Running that soon after eating didn’t hurt as much as I was expecting, which I think bodes well for my current fitness level.
  • On Monday and Wednesday my run was followed by light lifting and then swimming, which was tough but felt great afterwards.

I noticed that Zappoman likes to put up nice charts of his exercise program… Of course, I’m not as diverse an athlete as he is, but I like the idea, so I’ll put up a little chart since I did accomplish this week’s goal.

Week of Fitness Mileage

Total Mileage for the Week: 14.9

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2007 in Garbage In, Garbage Out, No Easy Days

 

Tags:

4 responses to “A Week of Fitness – Synopsis

  1. zappoman

    April 22, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Congrats! Good job! I am glad you accomplished your goal.

    I haven’t posted charts in a couple weeks. You’ll shame me into doing it again this week. 😉

    By the way, I’m glad to hear that your body can take back to back to back (x7) days of running. I know I can’t do it. Hell, I only ran twice this week (although it was 5 miles and 18.4 miles) but I am freaked out that if I run without sufficient recovery time I’ll reinjure my stress fracture.

    Anyway, good luck on your continued fitness!

     
  2. halfawake

    April 22, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement. I do consider myself lucky to be able to run several days in a row without nasty injuries… You remind me that I shouldn’t take those days for granted and make the best of them while I can.

     
  3. eric

    May 1, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Yeah! I’m going to exercise every day from now until the next winter. I’m pumped.

     

Leave a Reply

 
