RSS

A Week of Dietary Thrift

22 Apr

     In general, I try to pack a lunch for work to avoid wasting money on the mediocre food that is available for purchase near my office.  But when I’m busy, I have a tendency to leave my lunch-packing for the morning, when I’m usually rushing around trying not to be late.  In this state it usually doesn’t occur to me that two slices of bread and a banana do not constitute a fulfilling lunch.

     As the second trial in my effort to learn self-discipline, this week I’m going to commit to making an appetizing, multi-course meal for every work day.  The ground rules are as follows:

  • Every day this week I will bring a homemade multi-course meal to work.
  • On no day will I purchase lunch at work.
  • Each meal that I pack should be appetizing, and have multiple parts (no more plain bagels with water for lunch).
  • I need to make my lunch the night before.  Making it in the morning could theoretically satisfy my requirement of eating well at low cost, but part of the goal here is to de-convolute my crazy mornings.
  • I’m allowed to cook for multiple meals ahead of time, but I need to pack each individual lunch the night before.

     As with my 7-day running test, this exercise doesn’t necessarily have implications for my subsequent lunches.  I’m just trying to force preemptive lunch-packing to be a more natural part of my routine. 

     Alright!  I’m off to the store to get some grocery supplies for my lunches!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2007 in Garbage In, Garbage Out

 

4 responses to “A Week of Dietary Thrift

  1. zappoman

    April 24, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Great idea! I can’t wait to see “the chart” for this week. 😉

     
  2. weirleader

    April 27, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    hey – I have exactly the same problem! And I’ve (sadly) solved it by resorting to a couple of frozen burritos every day of the week, occasionally supplemented by a banana or a PBJ sandwich. 😦 Yes, it’s a pathetic state of affairs.

    I should try your approach – preparing in advance. The only downside is that between my teaching, my master’s degree program, obligations to church, and parenting I find at about 8pm the desire to just sit in bed for an hour with a book before lolling off to sleep.

    BUT – maybe good food would give me the energy I need to avoid that dragging feeling…

     
  3. halfawake

    April 27, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    Well, with all that on your plate it sounds like you have quite a bit more to juggle than me. If you’re going to change your lunchtime planning you might try to take off a bite small enough to chew… Maybe you can just committ to packing a lunch 1 day per week. If that’s not enough, maybe committ to doing it two nights in a row (etc.). These week long excercises seem to be the right length for me…

    I’m having fun with it so far :-).

     

Leave a Reply

 
