RSS

Fear of Flying

01 Jul

Last week I got stuck on a teeny 19 passenger plane in stormy weather, and I was pretty nervous.  I know saying I was “stuck” on the plane makes it sound like I was somehow trapped in an unexpected situation, and that’s exactly the image I’m going for — forces beyond my control or comprehension forced be to ride a bucking bronco over the warm Colorado Rockies, and I was not psyched about it.

I mentioned to one of the other passengers that I was nervous and she was shocked.  “Haven’t you ever ridden on a small boat?” she asked.  She explained that the tossing and turning of the plane as it travels is the same as the restlessness of a small boat of rough waters.  I explained that it was a little different, you know, because we were 27,000 feet in the air.  But still, for the rest of the flight every time the plane lurched one way or the other I just imagined that I was in a boat in choppy weather.  Thinking of it this way helped me remember that when the plane made an unexpected move one way, it would most likely recover smoothly.  It definitely helped for the rest of the flight.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2007 in Garbage In, Garbage Out

 

Leave a Reply

 
