RSS

A Week of Dental Hygiene

12 Jul

The ADA recomends that we clean between our teeth with floss every day.  I’ve never kept up with that schedule – I haven’t even come close – and I don’t think anyone else real or fictional does it either.  I think at maximum I floss once per week, and on average it’s probably once every few weeks (back when I had braces I flossed less than once per month). 

At the same time, in my life I have only had two cavities, and I attribute those to my moving to a city that does not add fluoride to the water supply.  Besides that little hiccup, my dentist always tells me that I do a great job cleaning my teeth and to keep up what I’ve been doing.  I do brush 2-3 times a day.

I like my teeth, and I don’t want to have them replaced.  They don’t grow back, it stinks.

So before I moved to New Mexico, I implemented one of my short excercises in self-discipline.  I committed to flossing once every day for seven days. 

The first day I had the normal pain from not flossing for a few days.  The second day wasn’t so bad either.  By the third and fourth days, I really wanted to stop.  The flossing didn’t look like it was doing anything catostrophic — there was no blood — but it hurt quite a bit.  And the pain didn’t stop after I flossed.  It lasted all day…  It wasn’t excruciating, rather it was annoying.

I made it through the seven days, and I was glad to be done with it when I stopped.  I decided to go back to my weekly flossing routine.

The one benefit I did notice was that now when I do floss  it doesn’t hurt at all.  I think I worked out some of the “kinks” in my gumline.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2007 in Alchemy, Garbage In, Garbage Out

 

3 responses to “A Week of Dental Hygiene

  1. Dan

    July 12, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    I’ve actually been flossing once a day for a year or two now, and I’ll tell you this: it’s made my trips to the dentist much less painful. But I guess your mileage may vary.

     
  2. halfawake

    July 13, 2007 at 5:41 am

    Dan I’m impressed.
    Hrm… Maybe I’ll kick it up to 2-3 times per week :-D.

     
  3. eric

    September 11, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    Just reading everything now..
    I started flossing once a day when I decided that I didn’t want to visit the dentist as often (since I didn’t have insurance). I figured that I could avoid cavities that way. So far, the plan has worked! I would keep it up if I were you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
