RSS

A Nice Streak

03 Sep

Running LogoThis summer, after fulfilling a pledge to run for 7 consecutive days, I went 68 days running every single day for at least 10 minutes. Then, while traveling in Washington D.C., I got sick and had to take several days off. After that I continued to run 5-6 days per week, and I felt great about it. The 68 day streak served as jump start into consistent training, taking me out of an nine-year-long pattern of running a few days one week, and then taking the next week off.

Now that I’m back home from my summer living at altitude, I’m trying to maintain whatever athletic benefit the persistent oxygen debt gave me. When I did my first run at sea-level, I felt like superman, bounding up and down the Seattle hills like a bunny rabbit on steroids. Things have slowed down a bit since then. Running hurts again. But I still recover from runs more rapidly now than I did over the summer. I’m going to spend the next few weeks trying to gradually increase my mileage and add more speed into my workouts.

In all, I ran 345 miles over the summer season (May-August), which is more than any summer since I was in high school.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2007 in No Easy Days

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
