RSS

As I Lay Me Down to Sleep

24 Oct

Last night as I tried to force myself to sleep, I found myself worrying a lot about the daily hustle. My mind jumped randomly around to work, roommate issues, loneliness, my lack of a life-plan, and other personal ‘problems’. I’ve been doing this for a while now, but what started out as an efficient way to plan and prepare for the next day as I went to bed has become a stressful nuisance.

So last night I tried something new. I tried thinking about other people’s problems. Specifically, I thought about the ~1 million people displaced by the San Diego Wildfires. I thought about the horrified families, the danger to the first responders, and the destroyed homes.

… And I couldn’t do it. For every new stream of consciousness I started, my mind quickly drifted back to my own life in less than a minute. I just could not maintain my focus on something foreign.

I would have liked this post to be about the transformative power of selfless prayer, but I seem to have trained myself to reflect only on myself as I fall asleep.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 24, 2007 in Garbage In, Garbage Out

 

Leave a Reply

 
