RSS

Now You’re Thinking with Portals

31 Dec

The Cake Is a LieWhen I first heard of Portal, it was through a single line reference to the game in an email someone sent to a group list, a sort of inside joke that instantly piqued my interest – “The cake is a lie.” I spent some time trying to figure out what this meant, and soon found the ending video for the game. 

After that I became a bit obsessed with the game.  I downloaded Portal wallpapers, I played through the entire platform-style flash game, I watched video walk throughs of every level of the actual game (with many encore performances of the final level), and I listened to the ending theme song “Still Alive” about forty-thousand times.  It got to the point where I’d walk around town and think about how much faster I could get around with portals, and what the most efficient routes would be.

Some have asked me why I don’t just buy The Orange Box and experience all that is Portal first hand.  The simple answer is that a multi-dimensional, fast-paced, FPS would probably not sit well with my vertigo.  I guess I’ve also sort of technically spoiled it by watching everything online.  In any case, it’s one of the most interesting games I’ve seen (though not played) in a while, and it’s nice to know that other reputable sources agree.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2007 in Entertainment

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Now You’re Thinking with Portals

  1. weirleader

    January 12, 2008 at 1:44 am

    dude! you absolutely MUST try the Orange Box!!!!

    I promise that it’s not really (as you put it) a “fast-paced, FPS”. It’s really more of a puzzle to be solved. The last level is the most interesting and fast-paced, but I don’t really think I’d use fast-paced to describe the game as a whole.

    Then again, depending on how many clones you’ve messed with, perhaps it won’t contribute anything new – but I found it very entertaining. In fact, I’d be very happy to buy Portal II (if they ever decide to make it).

    It really depends on how serious you are about vertigo – there are a few flying-through-the-air-whilst-attempting-to-take-aim-with-said-portal-gun that are a bit tough, but aside from that you can take your time and think!!!!!

    Get it! Get it! Get it! Get it! Get it! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
