RSS

The First-Slice is Always Free

14 Jan

Weirleader recently made a comment on my Portal post explaining that since Portal is more of a puzzle game, I should be able to take my time and think through it, and therefore avoid vertigo and motion sickness. Then, last night Basher emailed me about an nVidia promotion allowing those of us with nVidia video adapters to download the extended Portal demo, a.k.a. “First Slice”, for free. It seemed as though all signs were pointing to yes, so grabbed the demo and played the first 10 chapters of Portal. Having watched so much of the game play already, I picked it up pretty fast, and my end-game vertigo wasn’t that bad after all.

Before I went to sleep, I told Tangy that if Team Fortress can be played across platforms (e.g. XBOX vs. PC), that I’d pick The Orange Box up. Does anyone know whether this is possible?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2008 in Entertainment

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “The First-Slice is Always Free

  1. writinwrong

    January 14, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    I don’t know if Team Fortress can be played across platform and, in fact, I don’t know of any games that can be played across platform … but I sure would love to hear of some that can. To me that’s something that should really (and will probably eventually) separate the average FPS or sports game from the cream of the crop.

     
  2. Jason

    January 14, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Sadly, I think not. (Pretty sure you have to play with others on the same platform.)

    Incidentally, there is just one moment in Portal that I can think of that seems somewhat likely to induce vertigo. The scene that comes to mind requires you to create new portals while still flying up and down in the air through old portals; it flips your body around 180 degrees (upside down) and requires you to rotate 180 degrees (to look behind you) each time you go through the original portal you start with. Just remember to take your time as needed when you get there.

     
  3. weirleader

    January 15, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    yeah, Jason is right… there are a few odd moments that are worse than average. But hopefully you’ll agree that much of it is puzzle-like.

    and, also sadly, I must agree with the prior two posts…. don’t think such a thing exists. Though it seems sensible to me that such should be possible.

    For instance, if they ever come out with RockBand for the Wii I’m going to be all over it and would love to play with my PS3-owning friends.

     
  4. halfawake

    January 16, 2008 at 2:10 am

    That’s too bad about the non cros platformability. From what I’ve heard, World of Warcraft is the best example of cross platformery in a widely-used game.

    From what everyone’s saying, it sounds like it will actually be Team Fortress that makes me sick, and not Portal. Hmmm.

     

Leave a Reply

 
