RSS

Puzzle Zero

23 Jan

I went to the MIT Mystery Hunt this weekend to puzzle away with my friends on team Grand Unified Theory of Love. This year’s theme was a murder mystery, and the puzzles were exceptionally difficult. The first puzzle we received, named Puzzle Zero, was handed out in Lobby 7 at noon.

Puzzle Zero

Bads solved this one pretty quickly and it felt like a great start to the hunt. Sadly, just as we were about to follow the solution’s instructions, the puzzle was discredited by the hunt organizers as a prank. The solution was:

<puzzle solution spoiler warning>

Filling in the bars for each number yields a message that reads:

CALL 1-622-848-3780 ASAP

Calling this number on the day of the hunt connected to an answering service inviting MIT students to transfer to Cal Tech.

</puzzle solution spoiler warning>

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 23, 2008 in Entertainment

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Puzzle Zero

  1. weirleader

    January 24, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    that sounds like fun – I’ve always wanted to participate in those kind of events. Sadly, during my introverted college days, I never really heard about them nor was aware enough that they were out there to to seek them out. And now I’m married with kids and just don’t have the opportunity (or the time) to take part.

    Even on this puzzle, which I SHOULD have been able to solve (eventually), I took the easy way out and succumbed to the spoiler – else I never would have made any progress on my Master’s homework. 🙂

    And good for Cal Tech for pulling off a little prank like that! 🙂
    I always like pranks that are ultimately harmless.

     

Leave a Reply

 
