RSS

Harold and Kumar Poem

03 May

I’m not going to review Harold and Kumar, but I will say that it made me feel… conflicted. My favorite part was the poem that Kumar recited near the end, which is apparently a real poem by David Feinberg:

I’m sure that I will always be
A lonely number like root three

The three is all that’s good and right,
Why must my three keep out of sight
Beneath the vicious square root sign,
I wish instead I were a nine

For nine could thwart this evil trick,
with just some quick arithmetic

I know I’ll never see the sun, as 1.7321
Such is my reality, a sad irrationality

When hark! What is this I see,
Another square root of a three

As quietly co-waltzing by,
Together now we multiply
To form a number we prefer,
Rejoicing as an integer

We break free from our mortal bonds
With the wave of magic wands

Our square root signs become unglued
Your love for me has been renewed

-David Feinberg

This is how I wish I applied my creativity more often. The lives of scientists are sad irrationalities.

 
40 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2008 in Entertainment

 

Tags: , , , ,

40 responses to “Harold and Kumar Poem

  1. asad123

    May 3, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Cool poem, but it’s “Harold” not “Harlod.”

     
  2. halfawake

    May 3, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Thanks for the catch asad!

     
  3. weirleader

    May 5, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    sweet! I love the poem! (and I will never see H&K) 🙂

     
    • bt

      March 3, 2010 at 11:31 pm

      why will u never see H&K??…just wondering

       
  4. tuttle bain

    May 7, 2008 at 10:43 am

    me and panda just had a moment about is poem…

     
  5. abby

    May 9, 2008 at 9:47 am

    i love the poem..

     
  6. Carrie Anne

    May 10, 2008 at 10:17 am

    I love the poem!! and it actually makes sense too!

     
  7. tom d

    May 11, 2008 at 1:47 am

    thanks you helped me make time with my wife 🙂

     
    • travis

      November 23, 2009 at 3:27 pm

      Wat do you meen by make time

       
  8. sane genius

    May 11, 2008 at 5:48 am

    i dont get the part about the integer how would they become one?

     
  9. halfawake

    May 11, 2008 at 10:11 am

    @sane genius (sqaure root 3) * (square root 3) = 3. Since square root 3 is irrational, and 3 is an integer, the two have combined to form an integer.

    The question is, what’s so bad about being irrational?

     
  10. amina

    May 11, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    it’s david feinberg.. not david kleinberg

     
  11. halfawake

    May 11, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    oops. Thanks for the correction, amina!

     
  12. Tina

    May 14, 2008 at 10:06 am

    hehe there are two kleinbergs in the CS department

     
  13. halfawake

    May 14, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Yeah, I think that’s how I got Kleinberg into my head. Speaking of Kleinberg, I saw him at the Ithaca book sale last weekend.

     
  14. Sangeev

    May 22, 2008 at 7:17 am

    awesome poem

     
  15. crazy baldhead

    May 29, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    just want to make corrections. i see the posted version all over the net, but i watched the vid on youtube several times.

    and it’s clearly..

    “i FEAR that i will always be..”

    and

    “HAS quietly come waltzing by.”

    several times, it sounds more like “a” than “the” (i’ll leave it open for debate, but those two corrections make the poem make more sense, and i’m pretty sure anyone who actually watches the clip again will agree with me.

    thanks.

     
  16. halfawake

    June 3, 2008 at 10:13 am

    @crazy baldhead – is it possible that they modified the original in the movie?

     
  17. david

    September 17, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    im about to say this to my girlfriend who thinks that will work

     
  18. becky

    September 18, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    hmm realli appreciated the maths and poetry….. lol~~~ witty

     
  19. black

    October 19, 2008 at 6:41 am

    that’s great!!!!! i love it….specially the movie itself.

     
  20. .:FLipNinja:.©

    November 15, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    omg fcking nerds, poem is tight though

     
  21. Shafie

    January 6, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    really it made me feel, i like ti

     
  22. islandgurl

    February 2, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    i love poem and number analogy…and he picked number 3 because three is always the odd one out….:)

     
  23. John

    February 28, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Actually, I thought he picked the number three because when two humans get together and multiply, you get 3.

     
  24. halfawake

    February 28, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    John – I like your interpretation :-).

     
  25. Robbie

    June 10, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    how did u find out who wrote it? its a very good poem imo:)

     
    • kurtismartinii

      June 21, 2009 at 12:12 pm

      google…lol

       
  26. pokemonjello

    June 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    i agree with halfawake / john ‘s interpretation but i think that it refers to not something irrational but something that is rational to itself but not understood and hidden from society ( the square root sign which i think looks sort of like a cave) andthe 9 refers to other poeple and how the person that views irrationally wants to be like them and not haeve to be hidden form society and be able to feel a part of a community (integers) when a bperson with theese views meets another person (another root of three they are no longer alone and have their own community where thay can exist where others view like them and accept them (and lose the rad sign)

     
    • pokemonjello

      June 12, 2009 at 10:08 pm

      also i feel that he irrationality of the number as expressed as 1.7321 is how everyone views it when it tries to conme out into the world and escape from its hiding (like in a cave or rad sign)

       
  27. kurtismartinii

    June 21, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    poke, I think you should go back into your cave and think about it some more!!! lol

     
    • pokemonjello

      October 9, 2009 at 5:21 pm

      i like analyzing things everything tv books poems songs i find all these connections in books just by the wording and stuff and like i find all these connections in the show lost im very analytical of everything

       
  28. Anonymous

    October 9, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    omg ppl, its a good poem, but i agree with flipninja, u guys r fuckin nerds. Who gives a shit, if its good, jus read and get on wit it.jeez….i think alot of u r sure that the poem was made form some comlicated equation for two reason
    #1) ur nerds and hav no charm =P
    #2) u guys r thinkin too much and expect it to be so comlicated and professional, when really its meant to be profound, i think this guy made it form his real feelings, and that was jus the number he picked cuz it worked, and rhymed, and a few other reasons some hav said.

     
    • pokemonjello

      October 9, 2009 at 10:46 pm

      i think that we can only truly appreciate something by fully understanding it

       
  29. Illskooled

    November 19, 2009 at 2:15 am

    So it is what it sounds like, a way to make a fine math teacher melt in her shoes, actually to tell you the truth you may all be nerds (there is nothing really wrong with that, I am too, actually leading ther nerd revolution) my point though is that out of all the things everyone wrote not one of you saw that the number three is the special litterary number. Ages ago there was an english teacher that called it the imaginary key or some thing like that. All great stories stat with it though the three little pigs, the three musketeers, something bout three sins and three things that happened in shakespeare can’t quote them though… But either way I love this poem

     
  30. Ossy

    November 23, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Modified sentences of this poem in the movie

    * I fear that I will always be

    * And love for me has been renewed

    I love this poem

     
  31. j p

    November 4, 2010 at 1:32 am

    I’m sure that I will always be
    A lonely number like root three

    😦

    just like me

     
  32. Anime Games

    July 5, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    I love this poem when recited by kumar I cried my heart out and after I’ve finished watching the movie I search for it on the internet and I found your blog thanks for sharing…

     
  33. Aaroe

    June 18, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    I nearly cried too @1st.dat wz sweet

     
  34. Regina Marmol Lagatic

    February 5, 2014 at 9:10 am

    me too!! XD

     

Leave a Reply

 
