RSS

Green Day Might Be a Bad Idea

05 May

Informal Poll: Does the song you’re listening to while driving affect the speed and/or aggression with which you drive?

It does for me, and that’s scary. I imagine explaining this to the officer who someday pulls me over, and then them saying “oh… You were listening to Andrew W.K.? Man that song Tear it Up is nuts. I understand… you’re free to go!” Then we fist pound and I do a few donuts across several lanes of traffic before driving off.

What songs get you particularly amped or subdued while driving? Or are you immune to this effect?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2008 in Entertainment

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Green Day Might Be a Bad Idea

  1. geekylibrarian

    May 5, 2008 at 7:29 am

    I am certainly a victim of this sort of thing. Add it Up by the Violent Femmes and most Europop songs will usually make me start speeding (as well as drumming along on the steering column). There are also plenty of songs that I outright avoid as I’m fairly prone to highway hypnosis and anything too soothing will lull me right into that state.

     
  2. Jason

    May 5, 2008 at 11:38 am

    I like to listen to jazz and world lounge music while doing city driving, but punk, dance, and hard rock while doing long highway driving (to help keep me awake).

     
  3. halfawake

    May 5, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    When I was driving alone from Amarillo to Chicago over the summer (16 hours) I found that actually *singing* the music I was listening to helped me stay awake more than anything else.

    I’ll have to try some smooth jazz… in the city only tho. Don’t want to succumb to geekylibrarian’s “highway hypnosis” :-).

     

Leave a Reply

 
