RSS

Please End Smallville

17 May

Clark, Kara’s a lot of things…  Reckless, headstrong, possibly psychotic.  But she’s wrong about you.

-Chloe Sullivan, Smallville Season 7 Finale

It’s lines like this that make it 100% baffling that Smallville is headed for it’s eighth season.  “Superman in high school” has become “Superman is unemployed four years out of high school, whines a lot about how things would be better if he had never come to Earth, and spends way too much time running to Metropolis.”  The season finale raises a lot of questions about destiny and whether Kal El is here to save Earth or to destroy it, and it was actually a decent episode overall.  When they do these story lines, you know, the ones related to the actual premise of the show, I don’t mind watching Smallville.  I especially like episodes where they try to tie in Justice League or other D.C. themes.  What makes me dry heave a little here is that I can now plan on watching at least fifteen episodes about “meteor freaks” that basically rehash and recycle episodes from every previous season.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2008 in Entertainment

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Please End Smallville

  1. Jason

    May 17, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Consider not watching it anymore. Worked wonders for me with X-Files, John From Cincinnati, Torchwood, and others!

     
  2. halfawake

    May 17, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I just want to see it to completion. I can’t think of any other show that ran this long for which I’ve seen every single episode… I didn’t even see every ep of the X-Files. But maybe at this point I’d be better off buying the DVDs of the last season(s?) when they hit the bargain bin, which should legitimately only be a couple days after they are released.

     
  3. weirleader

    May 18, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    I’ve gotta hand it to you – I don’t know how you lasted so long. There are a lot of things I’ve liked about the show, but I had to give it up somewhere between mid-season-2 and mid-season-3 (I can’t even recall exactly when). It started to wear on me that 1) little bits of meteor rock kept finding new ways to warp somebody into a super-villain, 2) Lex kept wavering between good-Lex and bad-Lex, 3) who the heck is Chloe, anyway??? everybody knows Lana is destined for Clark…

    well, those are my first three – there’re more, but that’s a reasonable start. 😉

     
  4. Kristen

    May 18, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Really, J-bot? You’re gonna call out Tom Welling on this? The kid’s just trying to make a living.

     
  5. halfawake

    May 19, 2008 at 12:33 am

    How’d I call him out? I love Tom Welling. I have dreams with him in them.

     
  6. halfawake

    May 19, 2008 at 12:40 am

    @Weirleader the on again off again of *everything* in Smallville is infuriating. Clark and Lana. Clark and Chloe. Clark and Pete. Clark and football. Clark and Lois. Clark and Jor-El. Clark and Lex. It’s the worst kind of soap opera in that way.

     
  7. Suzy

    May 19, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I really enjoy Smallville and still find joy in wathing it. I think if you really hate it that much just give it up then. I know I skipped the last season of Buffy for this reason. Any way sorry your love for the show is gone but I enjoy it and though one can argue that the writing is at times shoddy. The last season made a lot of strides in regards of Clark’s character and they finally accomplished in making Lois relevant. If you really want the show to end then just end it in your home.

     
  8. Anonymouse

    October 24, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Smallville is a walking zombie that should have been shot in the head a long time ago.

     

Leave a Reply

 
