RSS

Ankle Again

29 Oct

Ten days ago, I drove 320 miles to a race in Connecticut.  I had hoped that traveling with the college running club to complete in a NIRCA regional race would help me recapture some of what I had missed by not running competitively in college.

Sadly, I sprained my ankle during the warm-up, thirty minutes before the race started, and all I was able to capture was 640 wasted miles on my car.

Compared to last year’s sprain, this one was minor, and while I haven’t been running I have managed to enjoy the time off via weight lifting, ankle excercises, and excruciating ice-bucket-ankle-soaking.  I’m hoping to come back sometime this week.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2008 in No Easy Days

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Ankle Again

  1. weirleader

    October 29, 2008 at 10:49 am

    ouch! As a basketball player, I (somewhat) feel your pain; although I’ve never quite driven 640 miles for a sprain. (I did do about 35 miles for a sprain once, which sounded bad until I read about your experience).

    Glad it’s at least not as serious as previously. I’m thinking about trying to get back into running (I did a bit in high school), but I have a quite a hump to get over.

    Oh, and thanks for the electoral projection website! Interesting stuff.

     
  2. Olivia

    October 29, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    that’s such a bummer. I hope you at least got to see some fall colors!

     

Leave a Reply

 
