RSS

I Would Run 1000 Miles

06 Jan

Early in 2008, I made a New Year’s Resolution to run 1000 miles over the course of the year.  I liked this resolution from the start – it was quantitative, attainable, challenging, and spanned the entire year.  There were ups and downs, but with a few days to spare in December I hit 1000 miles (total mileage: 1013 miles).  I’m left with a really happy trend in my mileage over the last 8 years:

Milage_Per_Year_2008

I’m ecstatic I’ve been able to incorporate running into my life more substatially every year since I started grad school.  I’m not expecting another 30% increase in mileage for 2009, but I do think I can make good things happen by continuing consistent running.

An unexpected feature of the seasonal mileage pattern for the year was that I actually ran more in the winter-spring season than in the summer or fall:

Mileage_per_season_2008

In this chart, “WS” is the Winter-Spring season (January-April), “S” is the Summer season (May-August), and “F” is the Fall season (September-December).   Compare the winter of 2008 to any other winter and the difference is striking.  My mileage drop off in the warmer months is due to a number of factors — injury, illness, meeting my current girlfriend, but I’m really glad I put those hard miles in early.  Those up front miles made the 1000 mile goal possible.

I’ll close now with a collection of all my running posts from the year, but I promise another post with my 2009 resolution soon.

Running posts from 2008:

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2009 in Alchemy, No Easy Days

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “I Would Run 1000 Miles

  1. Lindsay

    January 6, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    I’m trying to run more… first I have to get a good pair of shoes. I was bordering on shin splints for awhile.

     
  2. halfawake

    January 6, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    The shoes are definitely worth it. Consider it an investment in yourself :-).

     
  3. Rob

    December 23, 2009 at 1:11 am

    How many miles a man can run in a day max?

     
  4. halfawake

    December 23, 2009 at 11:22 am

    @Rob — The amount someone can run in a single day depends on many, many factors. Regardless of that, I was way below the maximum. I tried to focus on running frequently, rather than running far or fast.

     

Leave a Reply

 
