RSS

If Knowldge Were Power

20 Jan

gutlogoLast weekend was the 2009 MIT Mystery Hunt, and it was a grand old time as usual.  I don’t have anything extremely insightful to write about it for a general audience, so I’m going to go list format for highlights:

  • We wrote a national anthem (bootleg version).
  • We built a spaceship/robot.
  • I was reminded again how bad I am at solving puzzles*.
  • I *saw* a lot of cool puzzles that I didn’t get to participate in because I was too busy on something else.
  • I had a lot of trouble sleeping Friday night…  I think it’s because I gave up coffee in mid-December and one D+D medium was enough to keep me going until 4AM.
  • There was a puzzle that required having an XBOX live membership looking up XBOX Live achievement data.
  • The hunt was HUGE — well over 100 puzzles…  Can anyone confirm how many there were?
  • Our team (Grand Unified Theory of Love) is composed of a lot of cool people that I wish I saw much more often.
  • I have a tendency to have very little forgiveness for people not doing what they’re asked with respect to team organization.
  • Tony’s coverage.
  • Zandperl’s coverage.
  • Jeremy’s Intro and Wrap-Up.

* Does anyone have any suggestions for how to fix this?

I was very happy overall, and glad to bring Paul and Sniperbunny along with me.

Turning to the week, I realize that for a long time I’ve been saying “I’ll get to that as soon as the hunt’s over” for a lot of important to-dos on my list…  More importantly I haven’t really started cracking at my recent resolution, which is an indicator that I haven’t personally accepted the gravity of my research deficit.

Update: Weirleader reminds me that I wrote a couple posts about the Mystery Hunt last year.  Apparently my lackluster puzzle solving ability hasn’t changed much in the past year.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2009 in Entertainment

 

5 responses to “If Knowldge Were Power

  1. weirleader

    January 20, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    sounds very fun — I recall reading about this last year and wishing there were something similar for me to get involved in. I’m not necessarily good at solving puzzles, but I sure do enjoy the attempt!

     
  2. Greg

    January 21, 2009 at 9:39 am

    The XBox puzzle didn’t require a live membership. None of the people I test solved with had one, we found all the data we needed at various databases on the nets.

     
  3. halfawake

    January 21, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Greg — Thanks for the correction! So are you a Midnight Bomber? I guess I didn’t look at that one too closely. I was more interested in the fact that the puzzle made use of the XBOX Live data that it did. it was a very cool idea :-).

     
  4. Avi

    January 22, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I think I counted ~150 puzzles including metas. Can that be right?

     
  5. halfawake

    January 22, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Judging by the wrap-up, that can definitely be right.

     

Leave a Reply

 
