RSS

Seeking Advice on Exercise Logs

13 Sep

For about 8 years, I’ve kept track of my running mileage in an Excel workbook.  Before that, I was logging things in a Claris Works Spreadsheet for a couple years, and before that I had a couple years of paper logs.

The Excel workbook has worked well because it’s functionality has evolved as far as I have been willing to push it.  But for a while I’ve felt that its development has stagnated and it has grown unwieldy.

running log winter spring 09

running log graphical summary

Now that I’ve been benched from running for 4 months (more on that later), I’d like to explore other exercise tracking options that are more amenable to cross training.

Features I’d like:

  • Accessible anywhere (i.e. on the web).
  • Can accommodate different sorts of workouts (running, biking, weight lifting, pickup frisbee, etc.).
  • Exportable to spreadsheets or database files.
  • Nice graphical data and meta-data summaries with easily adjustable parameters.
  • Easy to track peripheral data such as gear (e.g. shoe mileage) and routes (possibly with maps).
  • It would be awesome if there were some kind of API or other method that allowed me to import my running logs from the last 8 years into the system, but I think that may be asking too much.
  • Social networking would be nice, but not necessary.

A couple friends (thanks Z and G) suggested Daily Mile.  I’m happy with that but it would be nice if it could track strength training as well.  Does anyone have other suggestions?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2009 in No Easy Days

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Seeking Advice on Exercise Logs

  1. zandperl

    September 14, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Ooh, if you find one that tracks weights let me know.

     
  2. Genevieve

    September 14, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Looks like you can track rates in dailymile and in mapmyrun… right now I am using both and married to neither! 🙂

     
  3. halfawake

    September 14, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Track rates? What do you mean?

     

Leave a Reply

 
